Connect with us

Charlize Theron to Receive American Cinematheque Award



Charlize Theron to Receive American Cinematheque Award


Charlize Theron, a Hollywood actress, will receive the 2019 American Cinematheque Award.

The Oscar-winning actress, producer, and humanitarian will accept the 33rd annual American Cinematheque Award on Nov. 8 at the Beverly Hilton in Beverly Hills, according to the organization. Every year, the major Hollywood award is given to an A-list performer.

“The American Cinematheque is extremely pleased to honor Charlize Theron as the 33rd recipient of the American Cinematheque Award at our celebration this year,” said American Cinematheque chairman Rick Nicita. “Charlize Theron is making a significant contribution to the art of motion pictures while breaking through outmoded limitations on what an actress and producer can do.”

Since her debut in “The Cider House Rules,” the South African actor has demonstrated her versatility. She got another Oscar nod for “North Country,” in which she played a serial murderer in Patty Jenkins’ “Monster.” As Imperator Furiosa in George Miller’s “Mad Max: Fury Road” and as the titular character in “Atomic Blonde,” she displayed her athletic capabilities. On “Young Adult” and “Tully,” she worked with director Jason Reitman and writer Diablo Cody. She also received praise for her current SXSW smash “Long Shot.”

Hundreds are anticipated to attend the November fundraiser, which will also include the presentation of a second prize, the Sid Grauman Award. The winner of that award is yet to be revealed. Paul Flattery is the executive producer of the American Cinematheque program, while Irene Crinita is the producer. The event’s producer is Corrinne Mann. The event’s co-chairs and presenters will be revealed at a later date.

Previous American Cinematheque Award honorees include: Eddie Murphy (1986), Bette Midler (1987), Robin Williams (1988), Steven Spielberg (1989), Ron Howard (1990), Martin Scorsese (1991), Sean Connery (1992), Michael Douglas (1993), Rob Reiner (1994), Mel Gibson (1995), Tom Cruise (1996), John Travolta (1997), Arnold Schwarzenegger (1998), Jodie Foster (1999), Bruce Willis (2000), Nicolas Cage (2001), Denzel Washington (2002), Nicole Kidman (2003), Steve Martin (2004), Al Pacino (2005), George Clooney (2006), Julia Roberts (2007), Samuel L. Jackson (2008), Matt Damon (2010), Robert Downey Jr. (2011), Ben Stiller (2012), Jerry Bruckheimer (2013), Matthew McConaughey (2014), Reese Witherspoon (2015), Ridley Scott (2016), Amy Adams (2017) and Bradley Cooper (2018).


Theron, 43, will next be seen as Megyn Kelly in Jay Roach’s Roger Ailes film, which she is producing through her production company, Denver & Delilah. Theron’s studio is also directing The Old Guard, a feature she’s presently shooting based on the comic book series by Greg Rucka and artist Leandro Fernández.

Popular Posts:



Continue Reading
You may also like...
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Stories

Trending now

Popular Articles

Most Popular:

To Top